The Fairfield Museum is presenting an ambitious series of exhibitions and programs to commemorate Fairfield’s 375th anniversary in 2014! Check our Program Calendar for exciting programs including an Adult Lecture Series, Scavenger Hunts, Museum After Dark, Historic Walking Tours, Family Focus programs and more >>
Exhibitions in 2014
Exploring 375 Years of Our Past
This new, hands-on exhibition invites visitors to explore the history of Fairfield and its region for nearly 400 years. Look inside a Native American wigwam, climb into an American Revolution fort, decipher a spy code, and sit on a 19th century trolley. Young and old alike will enjoy learning how people worked, lived, and built communities over time by exploring original objects, individual stories, and engaging activities. Sponsored by CT Humanities, Fairfield County Community Foundation, The Perry Family and Southport Area Association.
Fairfield’s First to Fly: Gustave Whitehead and the Race to the Skies
This exhibition in the Museum Library Gallery, will draw on photo albums and newspaper articles from the William O’Dwyer Research Collection to explore the new and compelling evidence behind the claim that Gustave Whitehead’s first flight in Fairfield predated the Wright Brothers’ achievement by over two years.
May 11 – June 22, 2014
The Fairfield Museum’s popular regional photography exhibition featuring iconic images of Fairfield.
Growing Up in Fairfield: Memories and Milestones
July 3 – October 5, 2014
Explore how the experience of growing up in Fairfield has changed from the 1600s to today, looking at work, play, and school. The exhibition will feature rare mementoes from Fairfield high school days, such as yearbooks and letter jackets, as well as a community wall of prom pictures from over the decades.
Picturing Fairfield: The Photographs of Mabel Osgood Wright
July 3 – September 16, 2014
Mabel Osgood Wright (1859-1934), daughter of Unitarian minister, scholar and writer Samuel Osgood, was born and brought up in New York City, but spent her summers at the family estate in Fairfield, CT. The summer home, called Mosswood (and also known as Waldstein), was built on 8 acres of land. Mabel married book collector and dealer James Wright and the couple moved to Fairfield. Here she pursued her interests in photography, nature conservation and writing.
Mabel became a noted author of bird and nature studies; helped found the Connecticut Audubon Society; was instrumental in building the Birdcraft Sanctuary on Unquowa Road for the protection of song birds; and actively participated in the Fairfield Garden Club. This exhibit will showcase her photographs of historical and pastoral Fairfield which were published in her own books and those of others.
Accused: Fairfield’s Witchcraft Trials
September 25, 2014 – January 5, 2015