September 17 – October 16, 2022
The exhibition features pieces from Ireland’s Great Hunger Museum, which has the world’s largest collection of art related to the Irish Famine. The famine took place from 1845-52 and was the greatest social tragedy, in terms of morality and suffering, that Ireland has ever experienced.
Photo: “The Leave Taking” by Margaret Lyster Chamberlain, part of Quinnipiac University’s art collection on Ireland’s Great Hunger.
On permanent display
Jennings Beach, Fairfield, Day to Night
Stephen Wilkes of Westport is renowned for his amazing Day to Night series, in which he shoots breathtaking iconic landscapes, portrayed from a fixed camera angle for up to 30 hours, to capture fleeting moments over the course of a full day to night. Fairfield’s Jennings Beach has now joined Stephen Wilkes’ Day to Night portfolio from around the world.
Jennings Beach, Fairfield, Day to Night has been generously commissioned and donated to the Fairfield Museum by the Saft family in memory of Marcia Saft, a former Board member, friend and longtime supporter of the Fairfield Museum.
Limited edition fine art prints are available exclusively at the Museum Shop.
Creating Community: Exploring 375 Years of Our Past
This hands-on exhibition invites visitors to explore the history of Fairfield and its region over the past four centuries. Look inside a Native American wigwam, climb into an American Revolution fort, decipher a spy code, and look through the windows of a trolley. Young and old alike will enjoy learning how people worked, lived, and built communities over time by exploring original objects, individual stories, and engaging activities.
Sponsored by CT Humanities, Fairfield County Community Foundation, The Perry Family and Southport Area Association.
Old Black Rock Harbor mural
In 1948, renowned Connecticut muralist Robert Lambdin completed an 8’ x 20’ mural for the Black Rock Bank and Trust Co. located on the corner of Fairfield Ave and Brewster Street in Bridgeport. During the 1930s and 40s, Lambdin had been one of Connecticut’s most sought-after muralists, winning several commissions through Works Progress Administration to depict American life in public buildings such as libraries, schools and post offices. A few remaining examples of Lambdin’s art have been preserved in Westport and are highly valued today. In 2017, renovations began on the long-abandoned Black Rock Bank building, and the mural, which had been damaged through years of neglect, was rescued and donated to the Fairfield Museum. The careful restoration of this rare icon of Black Rock’s maritime history was conducted by the Williamstown Art Conservation Center in Massachusetts, one of the top art conservation labs in the country.
We are grateful for the support of Bank of America, the Black Rock Community Council, Bruce and Michele Hubler, and Jack and Kay Collins for their generous contributions.