Explore Our Collections
The Fairfield Museum and History Center’s research library offers a wealth of materials on the history of Fairfield and Fairfield County from 1639 to the present. Our collection includes family history, historic photographs, maps, newspapers, church books, land records, and many more intriguing resources.
The library is home to the Collier Collection, an extensive library compiled by former State Historian Christopher Collier. With books on all aspects of Connecticut history, town and county histories, biographies of state figures, and scholarly articles, dissertations, and masters’ theses, our collection is among the best resources for Connecticut history available in the state.
Our manuscript collections contain diaries, letters, organization and business records, and more, while our museum collection features furniture, clothing, household items, artwork, tools, military items, dolls and toys, and architectural fragments. In addition, visitors can browse our collection of reference books to learn about historical subjects from maritime studies to textiles, or consult our reference files for news clippings and overviews on local people, places, and topics.
See Topical guide to manuscripts for a list of topics that can be investigated using our manuscript collections.
Click below for more information about the following:
- Gustave Whitehead and the Wright brothers.
- Materials on African-Americans in the Fairfield area
- Materials on women’s history in the Fairfield area
- Materials on the history of Black Rock
- Old Burying Ground cemetery – Google map showing some of the grave sites of historical figures
Click on an image below to learn more about these collections: